Lancia Beta Forum
August 16, 2022, 10:20:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beta Meeta 50th Anniversary 2022 Bookings now open
https://www.betaboyz.myzen.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=4385.0
 
   Home   Help Contact Admin Search Calendar Gallery Articles Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Brake sensors on front brake pads.  (Read 2730 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
VXdeMayo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 374



« on: February 09, 2013, 06:36:40 PM »

Dear wise men,
Is it normally the case that when you purchase a set of high quality front brake pads, you will normally only get ONE brake sensor lead. If so which wheel would you put it on, nearside or offside?
Tarox UK claims that is the norm.
??
best,
Chas and Anne. Huh?
Logged

"Baldric - I have a cunning plan" (Oh - ah, maybe not)!
MattNoVAT
Administrator
Legendary Member
******
Offline Offline

France France

Posts: 1830



« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2013, 07:27:13 PM »

Yes, this is normal.  I usually fit it on the piston side as that's where the direct pressure is applied.
Logged

1981 2000 Coupe S2/FL
1976 1600 Coupe S1
2007 Ypsilon 1.3 Bi-Colori
VXdeMayo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 374



« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2013, 08:24:01 PM »

Thanks Matt for your quick reply. Just out of interest how does that square with the wiring diagram showing two "sensors", one on each front wheel and both wires being in place on our VX?
Best,
Chas. Smiley
Logged

"Baldric - I have a cunning plan" (Oh - ah, maybe not)!
MattNoVAT
Administrator
Legendary Member
******
Offline Offline

France France

Posts: 1830



« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2013, 08:42:26 PM »

I'm not familiar with the S3 cars enough to comment Chas, my S2 has only one sensor on each front wheel and I can't remember if the S1 even has a sensors.

There has been a lot going on recently and I'm temporarily separated from my Betas.
Logged

1981 2000 Coupe S2/FL
1976 1600 Coupe S1
2007 Ypsilon 1.3 Bi-Colori
lukasdeopalenica
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 497



« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2013, 08:48:11 PM »

My HPE has both front wheel brakes wired, and one sensor per each wheel
Logged

Lancia Beta HPE 2000i.e. '82 rosso corsa
SAAB 900i 16V Aero, '93 solid black
Subaru Outback 3.0R
Honda CB125 K6 '76 electric blue
Specialized Epic & Stumpjumper
VXdeMayo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 374



« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2013, 10:26:55 PM »

That is what I thought. So I wonder why Tarox UK insist that I only need one wire when two are obviously needed to monitor both wheels. If you only had one wheel monitored and the other had a sticking caliper, that caliper would wear the brake pads out quicker, and possibly lead to premature disc wear as well.
Bizarre.
Chas. Huh?
Logged

"Baldric - I have a cunning plan" (Oh - ah, maybe not)!
thecolonel
Guest
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2013, 10:40:25 PM »

The sensor would normally complete the earth circuit before
minimum pad thickness is réached. If you are concerned just
glue a piece of wiring into the sensor hole of the other pad.

Geoff
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!