Lancia Beta Forum
April 16, 2024, 08:51:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: 2024 Events Calendar http://www.betaboyz.myzen.co.uk/forum/index.php?board=92.0
Please feel free to add more.

Home   Help Contact Admin Search Calendar Gallery Articles Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HPE Volumex questions  (Read 3399 times)
tonylanciabeta
« on: December 20, 2008, 10:50:07 PM »

From: glovebeast  (Original Message)   Sent: 26/08/2008 23:09

've just acquired a HPE Volumex, in very good condition. It has a few minor bits of rust (that I have found so far) and a few minor issues, but generally it's in remarkable condition, with only one owner until earlier this year. I wasn't particularly looking for one - it sort of found me - so I'm no expert and have a few questions:
1. What are the differences (engine/suspension/steering//brakes/cooling/electrical) between a Volumex and the normally aspirated cars?
2. Who are the parts suppliers (I've spoken to Andrew at Omicron already)?
3.I presume there are common parts with other Lancia/Fiat models - is there a database of these anywhere (fog lamps
and door reflectors are same as an X1/9 - I have one of those as well)?
4. How many RHD HPE Volumexes (is that the correct plural?) are still on the road?

TIA

Congratulations on your new baby!

Ok the differences;

Engine is modified ie engine
Crank, block are the same but has Vandervell competition grade bearings + fitted with a thermostatic oil cooler as standard.

Pistons give a different compression ratio of 7.5:1 over normally aspirated 8.9:1 to control detonation.
Camshafts are also different and inlet valves are larger than an ie, exhausts being sodium cooled.
Clutch is of larger diameter to cope with the extra power/torque.
Gearbox has a taller differential to give better more relaxed cruising - basically exploiting the engines extra available torque.