Lancia Beta Forum

Technical stuff => Electrical => Topic started by: Nigel on August 26, 2020, 10:38:01 PM



Title: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on August 26, 2020, 10:38:01 PM
Ref: 84 HPE
The hazards are only working on the right side, but if I select left indicator,they all work.
Indicators work fine both sides.
I bought another haz switch being convinced that would solve it, but no!
Also, the hazards only work with the ign on......thats not correct I think.
And when they are on, with ign, the guages are blipping and warning lights are blinking.

Is this a typical earthing issue, or more than that?

Rgds
Nige


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: mtulloch on August 28, 2020, 09:59:23 AM
First thing I'd do is check for +12v at the switch with the ignition off & go from there.


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on August 28, 2020, 05:14:27 PM
Looks like I wrote bad info.
The haz switch does work with ign off.

I've now found an exact wiring diagram, there's a critical connector block
between the haz switch and the column stalk, maybe even two.
Out comes the panel again!......and whilst there,i'll check earthing points.

Thanks mtullock.


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on September 02, 2020, 06:32:18 PM
Hello again!
I pulled the panel out and found a lot of corrosion and loose terminals.
I removed the terminal block,cleaned it up and squeezed and refitted all the spades.

Is there another similar,yet to be found, earth point?

Nige





Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: hutch6610 on September 02, 2020, 11:11:29 PM
Not like that on the inside no, the only other similar is under the headlights (like a crown shape)  but i doubt they would have any effect on the hazards.


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on September 03, 2020, 06:33:25 PM
Hutch, good to know,thanks.
And yes, those 'star' shaped earthing points x 2 by the headlights are clean and shiny from a previous job.

Further, i've indentified a connector where the L/H blue/black runs in my wiring diagram, just got to find it.

I've got an MOT booked for Tuesday,and this is the only known fault!

Cracking on......

Nige


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: squiglyzigly on September 04, 2020, 08:52:30 AM
I think the hazard light switch itself can be quite troublesome. You can strip in down and clean the contacts and springs inside fairly easily.

Good luck with the mot

Ian


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: jimincov on September 28, 2020, 08:30:09 PM
Nigel,
which panel are those earthing points hidden under? i need to check mine too...
cheers
james


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: peteracs on September 28, 2020, 09:33:52 PM
Hi

They are behind the main display in the cabin

Peter


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on September 30, 2020, 06:44:26 PM
The MOT guy told me that hazards only need to work from 1986 cars onwards, so I was 'panicking' unnecessarily!
He actually got them to work by some careful fiddling with the switch.

So I now have 2 duff switches!

That earth point is very accessible behind the instrument panel [thanks Peter] and well
worth a clean up.

Nige
 


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: WestonE on October 01, 2020, 09:18:28 AM
As there is a Renault 5/19 switch that fits straight in in place of the electric window switches on late cars (I bought some from eBay) I wonder if there is a new Renault hazard switch you could just change the top cover on?

Eric


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on October 01, 2020, 06:42:44 PM
Hi Eric,
Interesting. I had noticed the switches were French.

I'll take a look at your suggestion.

edit: I've taken a punt on an R19 switch. I'll report back!

Thanks

Nige


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on October 05, 2020, 05:28:11 PM
The new switch has arrived, and it works perfectly.

However, it's not a simple change of cover! The new unit has a set of brass contacts within the cover, gone
is the set of wheels riding in a bogie!

The two versions are dimensionally the same in all but the top-to-bottom value.

So do I now cut up the new cover, and one of the old ones, and somehow marry the two together
into something that looks reasonable, or make space in the surround to accommodate the Renault item?

I know, I know. Or do I?
Nige


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: WestonE on October 06, 2020, 06:48:05 PM
Hi Nigel Sorry they used a different design to the electric window switches! I think I would hang in there for a Beta one unless you can find another way to adapt the Beta Switch top.

Eric


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: Nigel on October 06, 2020, 11:12:29 PM
Hi Eric, no sweat, it's always a gamble, in this case a cheap 7 one!

I've little to loose by attempting to blend the two tops together, and i've
got 3 days leave to play around with it!

As an aside, I ordered a new LHD column stalk assembly, should be here tomorrow.
I recall you also did this. Any wiring issues or was it 'plug-an-play'? I know about
the cowling mods.

Best regards
Nige


Title: Re: Hazard lights fault
Post by: WestonE on October 07, 2020, 09:22:59 AM
Hi Nigel Wiring should be plug and play. But be aware you need a LHD column mount and cowling. I simply bought a LHD one and re-built it with a new ignition switch.

I have not tested yet the loom is in a crate!

Cheers

Eric