Lancia Beta Forum
July 27, 2024, 03:25:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: 2024 Events Calendar http://www.betaboyz.myzen.co.uk/forum/index.php?board=92.0
Please feel free to add more.

Home   Help Contact Admin Search Calendar Gallery Articles Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Replacing diff inter shat bearings/seals  (Read 171 times)
bobk

United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: July 16, 2024, 09:34:47 PM »

Hi. I'm new to the Beta Spider, so need advice on curing the oil leak around the intermediate shaft.
How do I remove the shaft and bearings/seals with engine and transmission in situ. Do I have to remove the drive shafts. Can this be done by just undoing a suspension joint, rather than pulling the hubs (a nightmare I believe). Can somebody give me a step by step process.
Nigel

« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2024, 10:35:43 PM »

Hi Bob and welcome!

Assuming your leak is at the diff end of the intermediate shaft.....

Slacken first the hub nut on the ground, it's tight.
Then remove the 2 bolts connecting the hub to the shock. undo the 6 drive shaft bolts,
the drive shaft will then come out.
Then you can remove the intermediate shaft carrier bolts from the engine block, (jack up the engine slightly for this) and the
6 bolts from the diff flange. Then you'll need a castle nut socket ( I made my own tool for this) to remove the inner nut, the
flange then pulls out of the diff. An impact wrench is very handy here.
You can then remove the 4 bolted diff flange to give access to the seal. Be aware there may be
shims inside that need to go back in to preserve the diff pre-loading.

Hope this helps. Others may well offer more and better advice.
Nigel

1984 2.0 Carb HPE [ex Aus] Grigio Finanza.
2007 Mazda 6 2.3 [current daily, highly recommended]
The past:
1980 2.0 HPE White in South Africa [hope it survives!]
1976 1.6 Coupe Lancia Blu [PFG 76R] [probably deceased]