Lancia Beta Forum
March 28, 2024, 06:11:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Looking for Lancia Beta parts: www.lanciabetaparts.co.uk

Home   Help Contact Admin Search Calendar Gallery Articles Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wiring coil and ballast resistor  (Read 3643 times)
JohnFol

United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: May 05, 2021, 02:10:57 PM »

Morning all, just taken delivery of a new coil and was about to connect it when spotted something not right with the ballast wiring. 1st picture was taken before I started playing with things and yes, the resistor does appear to be neither in parallel or series with the coil (I've super imposed the wires as they run under the coil but they both join on the +ve terminal)

2nd photo is the Lancia owners book showing the wiring (37 - resistor, 28 - coil) however I hear they do not always match reality. For completeness, Haynes doesn't show the resistor at all!

So, for an electronic ignition, carb spyder, should I rewire to match the Lancia diagram or is there a better guide out there?

* CrazyCoil.JPG (83.68 KB, 643x848 - viewed 619 times.)
JohnFol

« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2021, 02:11:33 PM »

And the Lancia owners book's wiring diagram

* LanciaWiringForCoil.jpg (998 KB, 2972x1788 - viewed 619 times.)
peteracs
Administrator
Legendary Member

Peter Stokes

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2021, 10:05:54 PM »

Hi John

Haynes only has pre facelift and hence pre electronic ignition diagrams if I remember correctly, so no ballast resistors.

I guess my question is, why is there a ballast resistor in the first place, maybe to limit current through the electronic ignition? I assume the original coil is a 12V one? Out of interest what is the value of the ballast resistor?