Lancia Beta Forum
January 20, 2018, 09:36:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Lancaster Car Insurance Discount available to Forum members
http://www.betaboyz.myzen.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=3228.0
 
   Home   Help Contact Admin Search Calendar Gallery Donations Articles Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fuel sender??  (Read 2880 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
f1fascination
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 69



« on: August 26, 2012, 11:17:52 AM »

Hi guys, I recently picked up a new fuel sender for my Beta coupe, but it's different to my original in that it has only one spout, as opposed to the two of the original. (See pic)
My question is, can it be used?
My Coupe has an electric fuel pump fitted, it's a 2.0 litre.
As you can see in the pic, the larger of the spouts is the same.
Everything else seems the same, or near enough.
Any thoughts?


* 2012-08-26_18-13-35_530 (1296 x 728).jpg (216.65 KB, 1296x728 - viewed 242 times.)
Logged

"Whatever is rightly done, however humble, is noble."
Ammy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 148


« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 12:51:13 PM »

If you have a carb. the second ,smaller "spout" is the return fom the carb.
Logged
WestonE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 698


« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 07:08:46 PM »

If you are running twin 45s with a Facet Silvertop Cylinder type pump your single outlet will be fine as no return is required.

Eric
Logged
smithymc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 464


« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2016, 05:05:32 PM »

I have one to re-start this thread and the photos show exactly what I am asking.

I have a NOS sender, I think off a berlina as it has a longer arm for the float. I have tested it and it works, but still gives me no gauge reading, so I assume my issue is at that end.

Question is, there is an assumed earth tag on the 'new' sender but not on the original. Probably a dumb question , but why?

Mark
Logged
lukasdeopalenica
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 496



« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2016, 06:39:55 PM »

The mounting round plate is grounded anyway through bolts. In my car there is no such additional "tongue" and I do not think it is essential.
Logged

Lancia Beta HPE 2000i.e. '82 rosso corsa
SAAB 900i 16V Aero, '93 solid black
Subaru Outback 3.0R
Honda CB125 K6 '76 electric blue
Specialized Epic & Stumpjumper
thecolonel
Guest
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2016, 12:17:06 AM »

To check gauge
simply earth out the sender wire,
gauge should instantly go to full
if it doesn't gauge or wiring is faulty.
Logged
smithymc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 464


« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2016, 01:30:37 PM »

Ah, so I could have lost earth path in process of lining the tank.

Will check.

Thanks

Mark
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!